Skip to main content

Laura Clawson's important diary reveals to an audience larger than the Albuquerque City Council would like, that they might and can repeal a voter initiative to increase minimum wage

This seems to be a great opportunity to take action.  Please read the details in Laura's diary about the possible vote and take action, by doing one or all of the following - it will take you just a few minutes:

(apologies for not making these email links live, just copy and paste)

Contact the councilors directly:
Ken Sanchez
Councilor Ken Sanchez: kensanchez@cabq.gov
District 1
Policy Analyst Elaine Romero: eromero@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3183

Debbie O'Malley, Vice-President
District 2
Councilor Debbie O'Malley: domalley@cabq.gov
Policy Analyst Kelly Sanchez: kelly@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3159

Isaac Benton
District 3
Councilor Isaac Benton: ibenton@cabq.gov
Policy Analyst Diane Dolan: ddolan@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3186

Brad Winter
District 4
Councilor Brad Winter: bwinter@cabq.gov
Policy Analyst Jessica Gonzales: jessicagonzales@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3101


Dan Lewis

District 5
Councilor Dan Lewis: danlewis@cabq.gov
Policy Analyst Sara Westbrook: swestbrook@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3189


Rey Garduño

District 6
Councilor Rey Garduño: reygarduno@cabq.gov
Policy Analyst Julian Moya: julianmoya@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3152

Michael D. Cook
District 7
Councilor Michael Cook: mcook@cabq.gov
Policy Analyst Tony Duran: tduran@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3136

Trudy Jones, President
District 8
Councilor Trudy Jones: trudyjones@cabq.gov
Policy Analyst Aziza Chavez: azizachavez@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3106

Don Harris
District 9
Councilor Don Harris: dharris@cabq.gov
Policy Analyst Isaac E. Padilla: iepadilla@cabq.gov
Telephone: (505) 768-3123

                          Contact Local Newspapers/media:
Albuquerque Journal: Albuquerque, New Mexico
http://www.abqjournal.com/...

This is a link to a list of news media in Albuquerque:
http://www.abyznewslinks.com/...

And finally, has someone living in Albuquerque started a petition that can be shared and signed nationally?

                                        __________
I have to admit that I have been on both sides of issues like this. The city council might argue that the only way they can prevent layoffs is to keep the minimum wage as it is. There may be issues with the lack of revenue to fund the increases, and threats to make cuts to cover the increase in costs.

But, this is what the voters want, and in a case like this, this wasn't a vote to send a message, it sounds like a vote that would take direct action, thus the will of the voter should overrule any arguments about budgets etc.  That especially important when you look at the percentage of results: "two out of three."

EMAIL TO A FRIEND X
Your Email has been sent.
You must add at least one tag to this diary before publishing it.

Add keywords that describe this diary. Separate multiple keywords with commas.
Tagging tips - Search For Tags - Browse For Tags

?

More Tagging tips:

A tag is a way to search for this diary. If someone is searching for "Barack Obama," is this a diary they'd be trying to find?

Use a person's full name, without any title. Senator Obama may become President Obama, and Michelle Obama might run for office.

If your diary covers an election or elected official, use election tags, which are generally the state abbreviation followed by the office. CA-01 is the first district House seat. CA-Sen covers both senate races. NY-GOV covers the New York governor's race.

Tags do not compound: that is, "education reform" is a completely different tag from "education". A tag like "reform" alone is probably not meaningful.

Consider if one or more of these tags fits your diary: Civil Rights, Community, Congress, Culture, Economy, Education, Elections, Energy, Environment, Health Care, International, Labor, Law, Media, Meta, National Security, Science, Transportation, or White House. If your diary is specific to a state, consider adding the state (California, Texas, etc). Keep in mind, though, that there are many wonderful and important diaries that don't fit in any of these tags. Don't worry if yours doesn't.

You can add a private note to this diary when hotlisting it:
Are you sure you want to remove this diary from your hotlist?
Are you sure you want to remove your recommendation? You can only recommend a diary once, so you will not be able to re-recommend it afterwards.
Rescue this diary, and add a note:
Are you sure you want to remove this diary from Rescue?
Choose where to republish this diary. The diary will be added to the queue for that group. Publish it from the queue to make it appear.

You must be a member of a group to use this feature.

Add a quick update to your diary without changing the diary itself:
Are you sure you want to remove this diary?
(The diary will be removed from the site and returned to your drafts for further editing.)
(The diary will be removed.)
Are you sure you want to save these changes to the published diary?

Comment Preferences

  •  Tip Jar (4+ / 0-)
    Recommended by:
    HappyinNM, akze29, CherryTheTart, jacey

    Women are 51% of the population yet are represented in congress by barely 17%! Until our representation reflects the population, we risk sliding backwards .....

    by 51percent on Tue Nov 13, 2012 at 11:41:08 AM PST

  •  I'm in Las Cruces. (0+ / 0-)

    I doubt the Albuquerque City Council cares what I think. Can you find a way to make this go viral in Albuquerque? Maybe start with a letter to the editor asking for people to join you in influencing the Council. Good luck! This really stinks.

    •  I would bet they do - there is a link (1+ / 0-)
      Recommended by:
      HappyinNM

      to the local ABQ paper - good way to that is to comment on recent articles in local papers

      Women are 51% of the population yet are represented in congress by barely 17%! Until our representation reflects the population, we risk sliding backwards .....

      by 51percent on Tue Nov 13, 2012 at 12:29:01 PM PST

      [ Parent ]

  •  i think if city councilrs (0+ / 0-)

    believe that there are people outside of their city and state watching them, they will pay attention ... been there- it is embarrassing when outsiders are unhappy

    Women are 51% of the population yet are represented in congress by barely 17%! Until our representation reflects the population, we risk sliding backwards .....

    by 51percent on Tue Nov 13, 2012 at 12:30:23 PM PST

Subscribe or Donate to support Daily Kos.

Click here for the mobile view of the site